cream the opportunity of obtaining a fair return for labour and investment and thus ensure consumers of dairy products a continuous and adequate supply. The commission consists of three members appointed by the Governor-in-Council and operates with the advice of a nine-member advisory committee appointed by the minister. Since 1970, the commission has chaired a milk supply management committee, comprised of provincial milk marketing agencies and provincial government agencies, which manages the market share quota system under the terms of a federal-provincial milk marketing plan.

Canadian Film Development Corporation. This corporation, established by an act of Parliament in March 1967 (RSC 1970, c.C-8), fosters and promotes the development of a feature film industry in Canada through investment in productions, loans to producers, awards for outstanding accomplishments, and advice and assistance in distribution and administrative matters. It co-operates with other federal and provincial departments and agencies having like interests and as of April 1, 1977, is financed by a yearly appropriation. The corporation consists of the government film commissioner (ex officio) and six other members appointed by the Governor-in-Council for terms of five years. The corporation reports to Parliament through the secretary of state.

Canadian Government Specifications Board (Specifications Board Canada). Created in 1934 under the authority of the National Research Council Act (RSC 1970, c.N-14) as the Government Purchasing Standards Committee, this interdepartmental agency's name was changed in 1948 to Canadian Government Specifications Board (CGSB).

In 1965, responsibility for the CGSB's operation was transferred by order-in-council to the defence production department, now part of supply and services. Membership of the board was revised to include the secretary of the Treasury Board, the president of the National Research Council, and the deputy ministers of consumer and corporate affairs, national defence, public works, supply and services, transport, and industry, trade and commerce. The deputy minister of supply and services was designated chairman of the board.

The role of the CGSB is to provide standards for both public and private sectors for procurement, consumer requirements, legislation, technical practices, test procedures and to support international standardization in more than 100 fields. It has compiled more than 1,800 standards in both official languages. The technical process of developing and revising standards is performed by some 300 committees and about 3,000 members representing governments, producers, consumers, research and testing agencies, educational institutions, professional, technical and trade societies. The board works closely with the Standards Council of Canada and Metric Commission Canada in relation to national and international standardization and metric conversion. It is accredited by the council as a national standards writing organization.

Canadian Grain Commission. The Canada Grain Act (SC 1970-71, c.7) came into force in April 1971, repealing the Canada Grain Act, 1930 (RSC 1952, c.25) and replacing the former Board of Grain Commissioners for Canada. The commission reports to Parliament through the minister of agriculture. It provides general supervision over the physical handling of grain in Canada by licensing elevators and elevator operators, by inspecting, grading and weighing grain received at and shipped from terminal elevators, and by other services associated with regulating the grain industry. It manages and operates the six Canadian government elevators in Western Canada and administers the Grain Futures Act, which provides for grain futures trading.

The commission consists of a chief commissioner and two commissioners. Its objects are, in the interests of grain producers, to establish and maintain standards of quality for Canadian grain, to ensure a dependable commodity for domestic and export markets and to regulate grain handling in Canada. It has authority to conduct investigations and hold hearings, and to undertake, sponsor and promote research in relation to grain and grain products. The commission is part of the agriculture department, but submits a separate report to the minister.

Canadian Human Rights Commission. This commission was established on July 14, 1977 by the Canadian Human Rights Act (SC 1976-77, c.33) to deal with complaints regarding discriminatory practices and to develop and conduct information programs to foster public understanding of this act. The commission may designate an investigator to examine a complaint and may appoint a conciliator to bring about a settlement. At any stage after a complaint is filed, the commission may appoint a human rights tribunal to inquire into it.

The commission consists of two full-time members, the chief commissioner and the deputy chief commissioner, and from three to six other members who may be appointed by the Governor-in-Council as full- or part-time members for a term of seven years.

The minister of justice designates one member of the commission to be privacy commissioner to receive, investigate and report on complaints from individuals who allege that they are not being accorded the rights they are entitled to in relation to personal information recorded in a federal information bank.

The head office of the commission is in the National Capital Region. The commission reports to Parliament through the minister of justice.